Another One

Isn’t it amazing how movies can inspire us? Trust me, I can honestly say that a number of the things I do and say were influenced by movies and music. Like the movie, “The Duff”, which encourages self-acceptance and all that good stuff. I didn’t notice I was a Duff or that Duff was actually a thing until I came across this movie a few months ago. However, its impact was only felt today, which is why I am now writing this.

Influence is a funny thing. Words can influence us and I think they may just be the greatest of all influences. Take today for instance, my mother asked me to do somethings for her as she had to take care of some business on the road. Of course after seeing the disapproval on my face of having to do actual work, she reminded me of the thing I can never get tired of hearing…”you are lazy”. I found a meme sometime last year that I shall have printed on a T-shirt.

Screenshot_2016-05-29-11-14-53.png
Yup this totally describes me, even my gym instructor agrees.

So here’s what happened because of the influence of my mother’s words. Mother had put the laundry out to dry this morning in an effort to catch some sun. We’ve been having a lot of rain lately, and this has triggered me to be even more selective with my participation. Anyways, I decided to do my mom the favor and take the laundry in before the rain. Which I must add did not even happen.

So I’m minding my business and taking stuff off the clothes line and a spider attacks me out of nowhere. This thing spun a web around my leg so quickly I didn’t even have time to feel it happen. I didn’t realize my demise until it had finished spinning its web and started to make its way up my leg. Just think I could’ve either become spider-woman today or dead. I may be overreacting, but spiders have that effect on humans.

I quickly shacked it off me and stepped on it, that was sheer adrenaline. I am a natural born coward. So even though the arachnid lay dead the entire time I continued to not be lazy, I made sure to avoid it. You know, just in case it decided to be un-dead and try another sneak attack.

I think I should point out that I am terribly afraid of anything that crawls, slithers, glides, hops, the whole works. Pictures I can handle, the actual thing…not so much. I’ve slept on the couch because a lizard was in my room and my father was away and my brother refused to get it out of my room. But I digress.

I finish with the laundry and get back inside, all itchy because the invisible and microscopic species of the outdoors were crawling all over me. I had a quick and scalding shower to put my mind at ease. Made my way back to my bed, in stepping out of my slippers, I somehow step back into the slipper and step onto the buckle of the slipper which slices the bottom of my foot. At this point I’m just like, this is why you should be lazy and not care what anyone has to say. Yup, that’s what I get for trying to be un-lazy.

After dressing my wound all by myself… I’m a big girl after all and my mother was too busy on her phone. Oh yeah, she came back and was home the entire time I was under attack. Think I’m too old to call child services now.

So yeah, I dressed my wound and once again made my way back into my bed. Trying to find a movie to be lazy to, I settle for “The Duff”. I wasn’t in the mood for a new movie. But I am now! I’ll try to include it in tomorrow’s post.

Now that I have made another post, I can continue to exercise selective participation. I like this kind of participation. This is me being inspired; in a good way.

Being the ever so creatively confused,

and injured

College girl

Author: Chieniel

The writer of creatively confused college girl, is a student of one of Jamaica's prominent tertiary institutions. Leaving from the "country" to establish herself in "town". Wearing many hats she will share easy recipe idea and her experiences as a new university student.

Leave a Reply

